A Man, a Whale, and a Camel

“Help!” I shouted as Ed shot flaming arrows towards my head. I hastily ducked out of the way, my hat swept from my head. Ed is my friend; that is, he was, until this morning. I was knocking on the door of his house, I wasn’t expecting to be running for my life ten minutes later. I had no clue that he had gone crazy overnight. He was my best bud before.

“Go, Ellie!”

I leaped into the mouth of my whale. Quickly, she closed her mouth. All I could see was darkness and feel the damp air, but I knew she was diving me to safety, as I could feel my ears popping. While I started to catch my breath, I patted the massive tongue I was sitting on. Ellie took me up to land, after my heart was at a normal pace. After a bit, I was spit out of the giant mouth, which is when I saw something I had never seen before.

I picked up the soft camel shaped object, coughing because of all the smoke.

“Hello?” I asked the creature, “Are you alive?”

The tiny camel, whom smelled strongly of fetid cigarette smoke, hacked and wheezed, then climbed up to my shoulder. I brought him back to my house and put him into my spare room. He stayed with me for weeks, and shared with me that his name was Charles and that he is a rare and endangered uahi paka camel species.  One day Charles and I were walking in the park, and stopped to enjoy all the gorgeous colors of spring. Suddenly, he passed out! Quickly, I put him in my pocket as I ran to Ellie who brought me to the Emergency Room. The doctor told me that he could do nothing.

“He seems to have died because of lung disease,” the doctor continued, “I’m sorry sir.”

I was riding with Ellie and telling her about what had happened, and a few minutes of sobbing in our grief I heard a knock on the door. I opened it and there stood Ed. I slammed it, not wanting to make Ellie anymore depressed.

“Hey! It’s Ed!” he yelled.

“I know, that’s why I am not opening the door!”

“About that; I’m sorry about what happened. I hadn’t slept for four days because of this terrible smoke. I didn’t know where it was coming from, but I couldn’t sleep. Now I am all better, and awfully sorry. Will you forgive me?” Ed asked.

“Sure,” I replied. I needed a great friend, like Ed again.

_________________

I wrote this one pretty late at night . . . Honestly, I have no idea what I was thinking, but hopefully it’s not too weird. 🙂

Amelika

Leave a Reply

